h1

Dear Blog …

July 5, 2014

Oh dear … six months since my last post!!!!

I can’t quite believe it’s been that long … there is no excuse …. suffice to say I have been SO busy … much like the rest of humanity, and although I have thought of you often dear blog … other things have taken precedence.

Let me share with you what’s has been keeping me so preoccupied for the last year really … in the main …. Poppies.  Poppies.  Poppies.  The 5000 Poppies Project has taken over my life and my backroom and my living room and just about every other room in the house.  Who knew it was going to be as big as it is …. and that’s not as big as it is going to be … but oh what an amazing journey it has been for me.  Getting excited now as I start to plan the display.  Keep your eye on the  5000 Poppies blog or follow us on facebook.  Very privileged to be involved in this project I must say.

5000 Poppies Craft and Quilt Melbourne 2014

photo (8)

photo (9)

I also made a little time to finish the beautiful Rowan Lima sweater that I had been knitting for my son’s 20th birthday … he turned 21 recently and I thought I should be a good mummy …  BUT it’s a bit tight on him … so he won’t wear it and wants me to start again (oh dear). It is a lovely sweater and very very soft … the yarn was beautiful to knit with, but was a bit of a battle keeping the 4 row pattern (Star Stitch) correct especially on the increases/decreases … I love the finish though … and I have said I will knit him another in a slightly bigger size.  Don’t quite know what happened there because for the first time in my life I knitted a tension swatch … measured twice (or maybe even 3 times) … and no he has NOT put on weight … I knew it was going to be a struggle after I had finished both the back and front but given my battle with the pattern I was not about to pull it out … so the only way was forward.  Not sure what I will do with it … oh well.

 

evan's jumper

And my muse and collaborator Margaret and I have made and entered our piece for the International Freeform Challenge this year … that was inspiring.  I can’t show you it yet because the book has not been published but very soon I hope.

Until next time

Lynn x

 

 

One comment

  1. Oooh…I think I like being called your muse. Thank you; you do know that I consider you my muse too!



Leave a Reply

