h1

Catching Up on Myself …

September 16, 2013

Its been a couple of very busy weeks since I blogged last.  I have been to a fantastic stitching retreat with Leanne Beasley of Leanne’s House and Gail Pan to beautiful Waikiki on the island of O’ahu in Hawaii with a bunch of truly wonderful women … where I learned traditional Hawaiian quilting.  That was novel for me … I’ve never quilted before but  I think I have a taste for it now and am looking forward to a time when I may be able to add more quilting to my bow. I certainly would have loved to have spent more time in Hawaii exploring.  What a beautiful part of the world … and what beautiful people.

I am now back at work and also back into poppy making mode.  Things are moving along quite nicely in poppy land.  Tomorrow night we have our first felted poppy workshop at Open Drawer in Camberwell while the rest of the nation continues to create poppies of all shapes, sizes and materials at a rate of knots.  We now have in excess of 1500 poppies for our initial display in Fed Square in the second week of November which is unbelievably exciting … but even more exciting are the stories that the 5000 Poppies Project is uncovering.

Late last week I was able to make it to the Embroiderers Guild Victoria exhibition “Traveller’s Tales” … and was blown away by the unbelievably beautiful work these women do.  Disappointingly I was unable to take photographs but I will post an image of the piece that I purchased once I get it home.  Very excited.  The exhibition is on until 22 September and certainly worth a visit if you get the chance.  I would love an opportunity to go back and spend a little more time there.

Embroiderers Guild

Leave a Reply

