h1

It’s Been A While ….

July 11, 2013

Been busy … how ’bout you guys.  So much exciting stuff happening … not to mention the underlying home, family and work stuff that fills all of our days with busyness.

Last week I had the pleasure of visiting the 2013 Scarf Festival down at the National Wool Museum in Geelong.  What a treat.  I think it probably is the best Scarf Festival I have been to … and as usual, I was incredibly impressed with the wonderful creativity shown in many of the entries.  I also loved the simple way in which the scarves were displayed … putting the emphasis firmly on the scarves …  simply stunning.  I did, however, have a few favourites.

This piece … which is by Jess Coetzer and is called Encompassed was my standout and I voted for it in the People’s Choice Awards … a stunning wrap made from woven plastic tubing … SO clever it just took my breath away.

Scarf Festival 1

There were however, some incredible knitted, crocheted, felted, sewn, folded and otherwise assembled pieces … the photographs will tell the story … I did not get the creators names.  I wonder if my photos do it justice.  These are some of the more “outside the square” pieces … there were however many beautiful traditional scarves.

Scarf Festival 3

Scarf Festival 4

Scarf Festival 5

Scarf Festival 7

Scarf Fetival 8

Scarf Festival 9

Scarf Festival 9

And there was a whole section devoted to primary school students … they were very cute.

Scarf Fetival 6

So, do yourself a favour if you live in Melbourne (or even if you don’t) … put the National Wool Museum Scarf Festival on your must do list.  It’s on until 25 August … I guarantee you won’t be sorry.

Leave a Reply

