h1

I’ve Been Busy …

June 23, 2013

Things have been moving ahead at a pace in my world.  No. 1 son’s jumper is taking shape (not as quickly as he would like though).  I am loving the colours and despite the fact that it requires a reasonable level of concentration (and hence I only pick it up when I have a good block of time to spend on it) I am loving the effect of the star stitch in the main body.  I haven’t knitted fair isle for some time but this has turned out to be quite a simple fair isle … using quite a lot of slip stitches.  And with the combination of the weight of the yarn (equivalent to 10 ply or thereabouts I think) with 5.5mm needles it grows quite quickly.  Despite the fact that I measured his chest and have knitted the right size to his chest size … with added length to compensate for his height … I am not sure it is going to fit.  Tension on the yarn is correct … and I have come too far now to pull it out and start again.  So, if this isn’t the right size … someone else will end up with a lovely jumper and I will knit another (don’t you just love that?).

Smisby

The other project that I have been working on is the 5000 POPPIES project which you can read all about here.  A really wonderful community craft project with the lofty aim of creating 5000 knitted, crocheted, felted or stitched poppies over the next 22 months as a tribute to Australia’s servicemen and women for the 100th anniversary celebration of the Anzac landing at Gallipoli. Head over to the blog if you’d like more information or if you would like to get involved.  We are looking for keen crafters to help us to achieve our goals.

poppies 2

2 comments

  1. Lovely. It fills me with inspiration….



Leave a Reply

