h1

Fair Isle Fervour

September 15, 2012

It has been a very long time since I have done any fair isle knitting … I have a rather lasting memory of knitting the most intricate fair isle jumper in my teens only to have my mother wash it “for me” and put it in the drying cabinet … you may remember the “drying cabinets” from the 60s and 70s … only to have it shrink to almost toddler size … never did get to wear that jumper … scarred for life.  However, I did manage another fair isle … actually more like a nordic ski jumper with a not so intricate pattern some years later (pictured) for my husband … which he has not worn for 20 or more years and which I have now dragged out to modify to suit my son who says he wants it  … there is a very big difference in size here so  it will be interesting exercise.

But the main reason for this post is not about that …  it’s about the fair isle work my friend Jan has been doing — It’s called Maud from Virtual Yarns … a kit featuring the most gorgeous fair isle accessories in beautiful colours, and Jan’s knitting is really wonderful as she brings it to life.  So I have included an image of the work on the needles …. love it … and also an image … a snapshot taken on my iPad from the website if you feel the need to explore further.  Beautiful work.  She is now working on the beret …  Yum!!!

2 comments

  1. Modifying jumper for your son should be easy – just wash and place in drier!



Leave a Reply

