h1

Yarn Bombing

January 23, 2011

I have not posted for a while, busy with work, family, summer, tennis, cricket and enjoying for the most part the warmer weather and the longer days.  The hectic Christmas/New Year rush is long behind me.  Unfortunately, there has been far too little knitting, despite being very keen to get moving. I have put together outlines for a couple of knitting and freeform workshops to be held at Open Drawer this year and have managed to cobble up a few small pieces in my spare time – but nothing worth showing really.

However, that is all about to change. I have become very, very excited about a book that my sister-in-law stumbled across recently called Yarn Bombing by Mandy Moore and Leanne Prain.  Yarn bombing is defined as the art of crochet and knit grafitti.  I think it’s like freeform on steroids and I really love the cheekiness of it as well as the the sense of fun (not to mention the incredible creativity).  It’s not at all destructive to other people’s property although it does change the look somewhat, however, it’s very easy to remove if someone does manage to take offence.  It would be unfortunate if it was deemed to be illegal, because it is clever, clever, clever and looks like soooooo much fun.  I am already planning my first installation.  I’ve attached a few images from the book (just to get your appetite whetted).  Let the fun begin.

2 comments

  1. When do we start? I’m there!



Leave a Reply

